Bergen Vermette

Bergen Vermette

Bergen Vermette has lived internationally for most of the last 10 years. He has worked with community development projects on 3 continents, and currently leads programs for Canadian youth on international issues and global citizenship. At present he's completing a much dragged-out undergraduate degree in International Studies.

Bergen's major areas of writing interest for Beams and Struts are global issues, (evolutionary) spirituality, and popular culture. He's a meditator, a Brazilian Jiu-jitsu competitor, and enjoys traveling by motorbike.

Monday, 22 October 2012 04:57

Bullying & the wisdom of the 10,000 hrs

Where does real wisdom come from? And what does it have to say about bullying?

Saturday, 25 August 2012 01:33

Real Life Superheros (sort of)

This week our mini-theme is superheros. These guys take it to the next level..

Friday, 10 August 2012 05:45

How Museums Dupe You

The Museum is Flat. It has no context.

Saturday, 21 July 2012 01:15

Camping, and other manly pursuits

A page from The Lost Lore of a Man's Life

It's time for another Theme Week at Beams. Welcome to Undead Week.

Saturday, 16 June 2012 04:21

Nzambi

Zombie culture in Haiti with Vice Magazine.

Friday, 01 June 2012 05:13

Delicious Head Cheese

head

 

Head cheese comes from heads.

Tuesday, 06 March 2012 02:55

Who is Joseph Kony?

kony2

 

Who is Joseph Kony?

Monday, 23 January 2012 08:43

Putting it all on the line

 

greek

 

 

Is fighting for savages or sages?

Wednesday, 11 January 2012 22:41

Tipping Barrels in the Great Bear

oil_surf 

Surf, sand, and... oil tankers? 

Thursday, 05 January 2012 03:43

Muppets Meditation

Gonzo

 

Animal looks within while Gonzo offers his 'stay at home enlightenment course'

Thursday, 22 December 2011 17:30

I Am the Last Poultry Farmer

eating_animals

 

A response to the Factory Farmer

Thursday, 22 December 2011 17:09

I Am a Factory Farmer

 eating_animals

A response to the Last Poultry Farmer

 

Sunday, 18 December 2011 00:52

International Hip hop

hiphop_connection

 

If the sixties were about rock 'n roll, are our times about hip hop?

Friday, 16 December 2011 05:42

In Dialogue: with Michael Richardson-Borne

An interview with Michael Richardson-Borne, founder of The Renaissance Project. We take a look at his new integral platform for micro-documentaries on leading-edge art, technology, music and culture from around the globe. Booya!

Sunday, 11 December 2011 23:20

The Fruits of Intense Practice

Monk

 

Monks have always pushed the boundaries of intense practice. I'm no monk, but a meditation marathon is one hell of a practice.

Thursday, 24 November 2011 07:40

Separated at Birth: Carl Sagan & Adi Da

 

shocked_baby

 

 

 

Beams journalism, uncovering the secrets of our time.

seedling

 

Don't ask who should rule the world. It's development, stupid

women_rule

 

If women ruled the world there'd be no more wars. Just kidding.

 

Thursday, 10 November 2011 08:30

Happy Birthday Carl!

hubble-cone-nebula

 

Carl Sagan would have been 77 today... happy birthday sir.

Page 1 of 4

Search Beams